Rocky Mountain Region

Jackie Watts
Rocky Mountain Region
Director 2017-2019
Regional Officers
Alternate Director:  Darla Anderson, Utah
Secretary:  Joyce Hendricks, Montana
Treasurer:  Lynette Jeffres, Wyoming
Parliamentarian:  Mary Lerssen, South Dakota
Historian:  Trudie Layton, Colorado
Advisory Chairman:  Darlene Skari, Montana  
Webmaster:  Phyllis White, Montana
Rocky Mountain Rambler:  Joanne Jeffres, Wyoming

Plant your American Dream

Mind your Footprints

And Gather the Friendships

The Rocky Mountain Region Garden Clubs cover a very large area with almost 750,000 square miles.   Our 8 states are among the top 19 states with the most square miles.  In spite of this large area, we enjoy very close friendships. These friendships are very apparent in our regional and national meetings.  At this past May's NGC meeting you could see us all comparing notes on the weather, discussing what grows in our areas, gardens we had visited and just plain enjoying each other’s friendships.  These topics and activities are of great concern to our national president Nancy Hargroves. These concerns are found in her program “Plant America”.

We are all very aware of low membership in a number of our clubs.  Some great ideas came up at the convention such as getting college students and hospital employees interested in starting garden clubs.  I think this could present some wonderful opportunities for garden clubs in the National Garden Club.  We really need to think about these and other ‘out-of- the-box’ ideas for growing are memberships.

I recently became aware that few clubs in the RMRGC are sponsoring youth clubs.  Please come to our Jamestown meeting with ideas of how to reach the youth in your area, be it through 4-H clubs, grade school, girl scouts or whatever.


Conservation Pledge

I pledge to protect and conserve the natural resources of the planet earth and promise to promote education so we may become caretakers of our air, water, forests, land and wildlife.

Our beautiful Region includes the States of Colorado, Kansas,
Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming.

Rocky Mountain Region, Inc. is recognized under IRS Codes as a 501(c)3 tax-exempt organization.

Award of Excellence Chair:  Sandra Dennis
Awards Chair:  Donna Rouch